Thursday, October 23, 2014

Meant for Him by D.H. Starr: Review, Excerpt & 2 Giveaways!


Meant For Him
(Meant for Each Other, Book 2)
by D.H. Starr

Genre: Contemporary; M/M romance
Another hot guy from Greenwich Village is about to meet his match. That is, if he doesn’t mess things up…this time. 

After the failure of his relationship with Jeremy, Andrew Jamieson threw himself into a routine his high powered job on Wall Street and workouts. After two years, however, he is unable to quell the longing in his heart for that special someone. Feeling hopeless, Andrew resigns himself to life of work and living alone in his pent house apartment. That is, until he's fixed up with Peter, the local bartender in Jeremy’s favorite watering hole in the East Village. Peter is hot, sweet, sensitive and…masterful. Peter brings out a side of Andrew he never knew he had. And he can’t get enough. However, the same difficulties Andrew had with Jeremy threaten to rear up and ruin his chances with Peter. Will Andrew love Peter enough to let himself have the one guy in the world who could be meant for him? 

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Unconditional Surrender (M/M Military Bundle): Featuring Lia Davis, Interview, Excerpt & Giveaway!



Strong. Sexy. Sizzling. 

There's nothing like a man in uniform, and thirteen of today's hottest gay romance authors are celebrating military heroes and the men brave enough to love them.

These brand-new novellas feature all branches of the service and offer something for every reader. Almost 300,000 never before published words!

Hook, Line, & Sinker by Piper Vaughn: Cover Reveal, Excerpt & Giveaway

Cover Artist: Paul Richmond
Hook, Line, & Sinker
(Hard Hats, Book 2)
by Piper Vaughn

Genre: Contemporary, M/M Romance
Expected publication: November 19th, 2014
When they were teens, Castor McCormick was the bane of Blake Kowalski’s existence. Their mutual animosity led to summers filled with rivalry. Now, nearly two decades later, Cas is moving back into the neighborhood to live in his grandmother’s old house. Blake tells himself he isn’t interested in seeing how snarky little Cas grew up, but when his mother dupes him into visiting his former nemesis, he finds out “pretty” can evolve into “sexy as hell” on the right man.

Cas didn’t think he wanted to see Blake again. No one has ever pushed his buttons like the arrogant boy he remembers from their youth. Turns out, the adult version of Blake still gets him hot under the collar—and everywhere else. With Blake on leave from work to nurse an injured leg and Cas taking time to move and unpack, they form a tentative friendship that turns into a sexual affair neither man can deny. But when Cas’s job sends him out of state to deal with a difficult client, their new relationship will be tested, and if they fail, Blake’s broken leg might not be the only thing to end up scarred.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Exciting News at Carly's Book Reviews & Giveaway!

“There's never enough time to do all the nothing you want.” 
Bill Watterson (Author of my favorite comic strip, "Calvin and Hobbes")


The most unexpected thing happened to me today, I found myself with absolutely nothing scheduled for posting. So here I am, sitting in front of my computer with time on my hands. Huh. What should I do with this unexpected window of opportunity? I certainly could post a review or two; there are lots of books that I've read but haven't reviewed yet. I could do nothing and use my time to read a book or two on my long list of titles that I want to review but haven't had the time to read. The last idea I had turned out to be the winner. I'm going to use this time to let you all in on some of the exciting things that are coming up here on the blog and in my life!
  • We're getting a make-over! The fabulous Lex Valentine of Winterheart Design has put her creative hat on and is giving me the professional help I obviously need. Look forward to lots of purple and butterflies! They are my totem animal because, like me, they appear to be fragile but are surprisingly strong and resilient. In fact, my first tattoo was of a purple butterfly.
  • Jamie Lake has invited me to stop by his blog for an interrogat... I mean interview. It will be posted next week, and I've gotten some fabulous questions from him! I'm going to be dishing on topics from my favorite books, things I'm passionate about, and what makes me unique. I thought it was extremely generous of him to describe me as "unique" when everyone knows that I'm as "special" as a one-man-band in a library! =)
  • The biggest news is that I'm going to be published!
    • Slated for publication on January 19th, 2015 Lucky Like That is a contemporary M/M romantic comedy about Ethan, a young man who is hilariously unlucky. His unwanted life motto is that "if it can go wrong, it will go wrong." I hope you will laugh yourselves silly over Ethan and his wacky family as he meets Andrew and embarks on a journey towards love that's filled with misadventures.
    • On March 10th, 2015 Awakening Tohren my science fiction M/M romantic novella will be published. It tells the story of Zander, a young(ish) male who has been mapping the topography of planet v16943 for the last 35 years. The Tohren race lives a sense and color deprived life until matched with an assigned biological mate and their microbes activate. Zander won't have a mate chosen for him until he reaches 150 years of age and doesn't know what to do when his microbes are unexpectedly activated... by another male.

Sooooooooo, in honor of all this excitement I'm throwing a giveaway!

Monday, October 20, 2014

Sotto Voce by Erin Finnegan: Review, One Question, Giveaway & More!

Sotto Voce
by Erin Finnegan

Genre: Contemporary M/M Romance
Expected publication: October 21st 2014

New York-based wine critic Thomas Baldwin can make or break careers with his column for Taste Magazine. But when his publisher orders him to spend a year profiling rising stars of California’s wine country and organizing a competition between the big name wineries of Napa and the smaller artisan wineries of Sonoma, his world gets turned upside-down by an enigmatic young winemaker who puts art before business.

Sotto Voce is the story of love and wine, and how both require patience, passion, an acceptance of change—and an understanding that sometimes, you have to let nature take its course.

Sunday, October 19, 2014

Heart of the Matter by LaQuette: Review, Interview, Giveaway & More!

Heart of the Matter
(Queens of Kings, Book 1)
by LaQuette

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Heart “Mac” MacKenzie is a tough police lieutenant in the NYPD servicing the rough streets of Brooklyn, New York. She’s a strong leader who doesn’t mind getting in the trenches with the men and women she leads at the seventy-fourth precinct. Her house, her people, and her family—both blue and blood—are the only things that matter. She would live and die for the blue wall that shields her from a traumatic past.

When her captain assigns her a high-profile kidnapping case that she doesn’t want, and insists she allows the missing girl’s irritatingly sexy uncle to tag along during the investigation, her blood boils. Mac has no choice but to do what she always does when things get out of control, lay down the law—her law.

Kenneth Searlington is a rich playboy from the Upper East Side of Manhattan. With stunning looks and an unlimited source of wealth, he’s used to being the center of everyone’s attention, especially the women that he comes in contact with in high society. His life is fun and carefree until his niece, Merridith is kidnapped, and he’s forced to seek out the help of his godfather an NYPD police captain, David Porter.

Afraid and frustrated, Kenneth defers to his uncle’s expertise and his promise that he’s putting his best cop on the case, Lieutenant MacKenzie. When Kenneth discovers “Mac” is actually a sexy as sin lady cop with a fiery temper to match, he decides mixing a little business with pleasure might be just the thing he needs to distract him from long-standing family issues that are trying to crawl their way back into the forefront of his life.

Each used to having their own way, can these two work together long enough to bring an innocent child home? Or will they settle their differences and unyielding attraction in a more carnal way and get right down to the heart of the matter?

Saturday, October 18, 2014

Random Acts by Mia Kerick: Review, Excerpt & Giveaway

Random Acts
Random Acts
by Mia Kerick
 Genres: Contemporary M/M Romance

Bradley Zelder can’t find his way in life. After struggling for nearly a decade, he has yet to complete his college degree. Working as a school custodian, living in blue-collar Landsbury, MA, his love life is as empty as the rest of his existence. But on his way home after another disastrous date, his truck breaks down in upscale Oceanside. When he thinks life can’t get any worse, a man who is the epitome of Boston elite and everything Bradley finds attractive and intimidating helps him move his truck to the side of the road. Ashamed of his lot in life, Bradley almost lets the opportunity slip away, but he comes to his senses in time and tracks Caleb down.

From a random act of kindness, romance begins to grow, filling all the dark corners of Bradley’s empty life—until a random act of violence threatens to take it all away. Bradley must step up and be the man Caleb believes him to be. Caleb rescued him from a life without hope. Can Bradley rescue him in return?